Customer (Allie Byrne) - 02/17/2006 01:04 PM
I recently just went vegan, and I must admit
that your ice cream was the hardest thing for me to
give up. Is there any way that you could make
vegan ice creams, using soy milk and etc in place
of dairy and eggs? Living in Vermont, its very
hard to resist your ice cream and you always have
had the best flavors and ideas. I know you have
vegan sorbets, but I've never seen a grocery
store carry them. I think this would be a wonderful
addition to the Ben and Jerry's line of
Here is the response I got:
Response (George) - 02/17/2006 01:53 PM
Thank you for contacting us about making
a non-dairy frozen dessert product. We appreciate the
opportunity to respond.
We have received requests for soy-based
or rice-based alternatives to dairy products,
happy to consider them. For the time being,
however, we have decided to continue with our line
of milk-based products, with the exception
of our sorbets, which are dairy-free and making a
return to grocery store pints this spring.
While we do recognize the environmental claims for
vegetable products, we are strongly committed
to supporting the small family dairy farms of
Vermont, feeling that their survival is
crucial to maintenance of Vermont's scenic beauty and
the vitality of its rural communities.
We have not ruled out introducing a non-dairy line of
products in the future. We are keeping
track of requests we receive, however, and will be glad
to keep yours on file for periodic review.
Thank you for taking the time and caring to write.
Ben & Jerry's
This is good news! They have not ruled out the possibility of a
non-dairy ice cream, and the sorbets (vegan) will be
hitting the shelves soon! Woohoo!
B&J's email is firstname.lastname@example.org
** EDIT ** I added more line breaks so it wont
go into the sidebar.
Friday, February 17, 2006
Here is the question I sent to them via their online form: